the international voices of the travelogue scamps

our international collaboration began as an artistic experiment in the wake of the 2016 american election. at once amused and disturbed, flabbergasted and appalled, by the apparent breakdown of the american democratic system, we wrote and recorded our songs not just as public acts of social critique but as deeply personal acts of self-examination: what is the artists’ role, we asked ourselves, in a world increasingly polarized (some might say paralyzed) by partisan politics and associated culture wars? is it possible nowadays to write songs of dissent without succumbing to naivety, oversimplifying complex issues, or falling into cliché?

pondering these questions, we began by writing lyrics for a satirical song called “Cancel My Trip to America.” but rather than creating a single definitive recording, we thought it would be fun to see which one of us could write the best music for the lyrics, and as a result we came up with four very different versions of the song. inspired by the results, we used the same approach to create multiple versions of four additional songs, eventually achieving an album’s worth of material written and performed in distinctively different musical styles.

our songs tell a story of political governance destabilized by a populist groundswell of outrage and fear informed by a special loathing of human difference and diversity in a globalizing world. we wrote “Banned at the Border” as a spontaneous response to the american president’s executive order banning immigrants from several muslim-majority countries, lamenting the vast distance separating america’s founding democratic idealism from its present-day turn towards authoritarian cynicism. next came “The Great American Reality Show,” a light-hearted take on the chaos daily emanating from a white house led by an attention-seeking reality tv star increasingly at odds with the first amendment. shortly afterwards, pondering the potential advent of a new global arms race supported by the dangerously bellicose rhetoric of several authoritarian world leaders, we wrote “No More War!,” a song in which we tip our hat to our favourite musical peacenik, the late great John Lennon. finally, we recorded several versions of “Hello Paris” to express our concern about the us government’s withdrawal from the paris climate accord, and to voice our support for a sustainable global order based on dignity, respectful dialogue, and international cooperation.

© 2017 Travelogue Scamps

travelogue scamps 

the travelogue scamps are

listen to all album tracks and buy our album: The Travelogue Scamps website

a few appetizers you'll find in the music player above...

die internationalen stimmen der travelogue scamps

unsere internationale zusammenarbeit begann als künstlerisches experiment im zuge der amerikanischen wahl 2016. zuerst amüsiert und verstört, dann verblüfft und entsetzt und durch den scheinbaren zusammenbruch des amerikanischen demokratischen systems schrieben und veröffentlichten wir unsere lieder nicht nur als öffentlichen akt der sozialen kritik, sondern als tief persönliche handlungen der selbstprüfung: was ist die rolle der künstler, fragten wir uns in einer welt, die zunehmend polarisiert wurde (manche würden sagen paralysiert), durch partisanenpolitik und damit verbundene kulturkriege? ist es heute möglich, lieder von dissens zu schreiben, ohne der naivität zu entgehen, komplexe fragen zu vereinfachen oder in klischees zu verfallen?

diese fragen erwägend fingen wir an, texte für ein satirisches lied zu schreiben, das “Cancel My Trip to America” genannt wurde. aber anstatt eine einzige endgültige aufnahme zu schaffen, dachten wir, es wäre lustig zu sehen, welcher von uns die beste musik zu den lyrics schreiben würde und als ergebnis hatten wir vier sehr verschiedene versionen des songs. inspiriert durch die ergebnisse haben wir den gleichen ansatz verwendet mehrere versionen von vier weiteren songs zu kreieren, um schließlich album-material zu erzielen, das in deutlich unterschiedlichen musikalischen stilen aufgenommen wurde.

unsere lieder erzählen eine geschichte der politischen regierungsführung, die durch eine populistische grundwelle von empörung und angst und durch eine besondere abneigung von menschlichen unterschieden und vielfalt in einer globalisierenden welt gekennzeichnet ist und somit destabilisierend wirkt. wir schrieben “Banned at the Border” als eine spontane reaktion auf die exekutivorder des amerikanischen präsidenten, die einwandererung aus mehreren muslimischen ländern zu verbieten und um die weite distanz zu beklagen, die den demokratischen Idealismus amerikas von seiner heutigen wende zum autoritären zynismus trennte. als nächstes kam “The Great American Reality Show” eine unbeschwerte ansicht des chaos, das täglich vom weissen haus ausgeht, welches von einem aufmerksamkeitsstarken reality-tv-star geführt wird und der zunehmend mit dem first amendment (erster zusatzartikel der verfassung der vereinigten staaten) im widerspruch steht. kurz darauf, das potenzielle aufkommen eines neuen globalen wettrüstens erwägend, das von der gefährlich kriegerischen rhetorik mehrerer autoritärer weltführer unterstützt wurde, schrieben wir “No More War!”. ein lied in dem wir vor unserem lieblingsmusik peacenik, dem grossen John Lennon, unseren hut ziehen. schließlich haben wir mehrere versionen von “Hallo Paris” aufgenommen, um unsere besorgnis über den rückzug der us-egierung aus der pariser klimavereinbarung auszudrücken und unsere unterstützung für eine nachhaltige globale ordnung auf der grundlage von würde, respektvollem dialog und internationaler zusammenarbeit zu äußern.

© 2017 Travelogue Scamps

 

 travelogue scamps

 

the travelogue scamps sind

anhören der album tracks und kauf: The Travelogue Scamps website

ein paar appetitanreger sind oben im player zu hören...